Tuesday – The beauty of protein

Need a little protein boost in the morning?

After talking with a nutritionist who told me that *anyone* who is trying to manage a chronic illness needs to up their protein intake, especially in the morning, I’ve been trying hard to do just that.

I had read that when your body is fighting an illness (in this case Lyme and related co-infections) it breaks down protein when you sleep. If so, then giving your body a boost of protein in the morning, makes sense, you are upping your depleted supplies.

We all know that a body under stress breaks uses protein (which is why athletes are so enamored with protein drinks) it makes sense that a body fighting an infection or a disease would also have a need for a fair amount of protein.

And of course having chickens provides me with the perfect little protein package. Eat all the eggs you want, my nutritionist told me, provided they are “clean.” Note: what she means by “clean” eggs are those that are antibiotic and hormone free (enter our backyard flock.)

And so I will.

I like my eggs scrambled (I gag on “wet eggs”) and with lots of flavors added (I liken them to “messy omelets.”) Today’s eggs were scrambled with sauteed onions, sun-dried tomatoes, and a little bit of pepperoni for flavor (although I wonder how healthy pepperoni really is – I’m going to have to look into that, I’m sure some brands are better than others.) For added flavor and vegetable fat, I spooned an olive tapas on top.

Didn’t take long (in fact the step that took the longest was cleaning up.)

Yum. It’s a non-expensive meal (especially when you have your own chickens) that delivers a powerful punch of protein and good fats. Win-win.

 

IMG_20150803_093554478

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

Leave a Reply

