Monday – “I know I can” and no weigh-in

I am going to climb that mountain.

Earlier this summer a friend of mine and I had decided that we were going to start climbing (hiking) some of the gorgeous mountains in our state of New Hampshire. Why not? We have tons of trails and you can’t beat the view.

The fact that we would be getting exercise was an added bonus.

Both of us are on that side of a little out of shape and so we decided we were going to start with Pack Monadnock which is a very doable 2,290 foot mountain. I’ve been up and down it many times.

When I first moved to New Hampshire I used to drive out to Pack Monadnock after work and try to race up and down it before the sun set. We’ve even had birthday parties where the kids would climb up the mountain to be met at the top with a lunch, drinks, and a birthday cake (there is a service road where you can drive to the top.) and then get driven back home.

You want to see a proud kid, you present them with a certificate that declares they just climbed a mountain.

It’s not the biggest mountain in New Hampshire but it’s one that holds a lot of memories for us, so it’s a perfect place to start. And I’m going to climb that mountain.

I’m too old for starred certificates saying I’ve climbed a mountain, but I’m not too old to be proud of getting back into the swing of things (or to appreciate a little  bit of incentive.)

This weekend, I found the perfect shirt to wear when I tackle Pack Monadnock once again. Behold – my “I know I can” shirt. Look for it soon at the very top.

IMG_20150810_101758380

By the way, our scale broke, so I have no idea of my weight. I don’t know if this is a good thing or not (the days that my weight goes up are horrible days for me, so much guilt.) I think that for now, I’ll leave the scale as it is and just see how it goes.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

Leave a Reply

