Tuesday – African stew (sort of) rollups

This may be the worst foodie photo ever. But the recipe (it’s not really a recipe, it’s more like a compilation) is too good for you not to know about.

I assure you this is tastier than it looks.
I assure you this is tastier than it looks.

There are some mornings that I just don’t have time to make any kind of a cooked breakfast. On those mornings (now that I’m adding meat for more protein) I make these protein roll-ups.

Couldn’t be easier, you take 3 slices of turkey, in the middle of the turkey spread a smear of almond (or cashew) butter. (You can sort of see it peeking out there.) I have read enough about mold and peanuts that I’m going to be staying away from peanut butter. On top of the nut butter spread a generous amount of salsa.

Roll up and eat those babies. Without exaggerating, if you eat 3 of these in the morning, you’ll be satisfied until lunch (of course I also drink a few cups of coffee with this.)

I came up with this combination because one of my favorite recipes (and I’ll have to dig it up) is called African Stew. It combines root vegetables and chickens in a tomato-peanut butter stew. (Of course if I make this again, I’ll change to another nut butter.) It is a fantastic, filling and stunningly delicious meal (if you want to die and go to heaven, add crusty bread to sop it all up with.)

If that combination is so yummy, then why wouldn’t salsa on a nut butter rolled up in turkey be equally as yummy?

The answer is that it is. Go ahead and give it a try. Let me know what you think.

 

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

Leave a Reply

