Monday – spiralizer anyone?

We all know that we need to incorporate more vegetables into our diets.

I discovered something this weekend that is going to change my and my family’s lives.

A spiralizer.

Okay, I can hear you from here. What the heck is a spiralizer?

It’s a non-electric kitchen gadget that makes “spaghetti” out of vegetables. The one I got is called Vegetti Pro and despite the little red square on the box touting “As seen on TV” I decided to give it a try. It was on sale at a local outlet kitchen story for about $19 (marked down from about $24) – I figured how could I not try it, right?

It was either buy that or eat zucchini seafood stuffing stuffed boats for the rest of the season.

Seriously, I am not affiliated with this product in any way, but you HAVE to get yourselves one of these things! Essentially it’s a shredder but it makes long pieces that look very much like spaghetti.

I tend to be more adventurous in the vegetable eating department, but when I shredded (vegettied) two zucchinis, sauteed the “noodles” with chopped up onions and garlic and then added red sauce (roasted garlic), grilled chicken and a little feta. None (absolutely none of my kids) said anything negative. In fact, the only complaint was that I didn’t make enough.(two small zucchinis barely fed 5 people)

IMG_20150801_184758612_HDR

My kids were so excited that they asked me about using different pasta sauces (how would this taste with Alfredo?)

Yup, we sure can try that. In fact, I’ll be making this zucchini spaghetti often. It’s a brilliant way to use all that extra squash and I’d be a fool not to serve my family this dish (over and over again.)

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

Leave a Reply

