Friday – week wrap-up

It’s Friday and the girls will be at the state swim meet – it goes for 3 days but because of their age group, they only have to be there today and tomorrow. That, of course means that I also have to be at the swim meet. It’s a lot of sitting and waiting until your event is called.

You’d do well to being a book (or two.)

Last night I put a call on Facebook asking for recommendations on comfortable folding chairs. I’m so tired of sitting in those cheap “butt hammock” chairs that dig into the back of my legs, eventually causing my legs to go numb. The arm handles always rip and basically, although lightweight and easy to store, they’ve been a waste of money.

I received many suggestions but this is what I decided to go with based on the comments, cost, and reviews:

deck chair

I’m not quite sure why it took me so long to realize that there are sturdier, more comfortable chairs out there, but it did.

So here’s the lesson on this little story. If something doesn’t work for you, if something is making your life uncomfortable, YOU DON’T HAVE TO PUT UP WITH IT.

Figure out what the problem is and then go about trying to change or correct it. If you can’t find the answer then *ask* someone. There is a whole world of people out there very willing to share what they’ve learned.

A chair might not seem like a big deal, but ask me how big a deal it was at the end of swim meet. I’m sure I’ll be singing a different song than the one I would have had I spent all that the time in a “butt hammock.”

Have a great weekend folks, catch you next week.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

Leave a Reply

